top of page
Haley Selen

Falconer's Knot

A secure knot that can be tied with one hand while blindfolded? Luckily falconers have already figured out how to do it.


When Aldo the kestrel comes inside to escape cold winter temperatures or Carson leaves the mew to soak up some sun, we tie their leash to a perch so they can sit and enjoy the view. The trick is tying the knot with the bird occupying my left hand. My right hand dexterity is useful here as I twist the rope in a familiar pattern and create a Falconer's Knot. This knot will hold if the bird tries to fly off, yet can be untied with a quick tug when it is time to return to the mew.



Can I do it blindfolded? You bet! (This was actually a requirement at one internship before we were allowed to handle the birds.) Feeling your way through the knot frees you to keep an eye on the bird, allowing you to respond immediately to any changes in body language.


Want to give the Falconer's Knot a try? You'll just need a rope, something to tie it around, and a bit of patience to decipher the diagram below.


From "Raptors in Captivity" by Lori R. Arent

2,726 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Gone

My heart skipped a beat as I scanned the rat snake's habitat. My eyes darted between all of her favorite hiding spots. But Emory was no...

Comments


bottom of page