top of page
  • Haley Selen

Listen to the Band

When I hear my husband's metal music emanating from his phone, I start to feel uncomfortable. My heartrate quickens and muscles tense. (My husband, on the other hand, finds this music relaxing.)


If I really need to focus on a project, I turn on my go-to study music from college. The piano and accordion from the Amélie soundtrack help me ignore distractions and cultivate a productive energy.


Late at night when I can't sleep, I turn on an old audiobook I had as a kid. The hypnotic music and deep tones of the narrator are so relaxing that I'm rarely awake to hear the end of the story.


How do different types of music make you feel? Isn't it wild that different sounds can change our physical and emotional states? The same is true for animals. And it seems that similar sounds produce similar reactions across the animal kingdom.


In general, high-pitched staccato notes increase arousal while long, low-pitch notes have a calming effect. Horses are a good example of how animals respond to these cues. You might make a series of clucks with your tongue to ask them to move faster, but a long and low "whoa" can slow them down. Music with similar qualities can have similar reactions in animals.


The idea of music affecting animals has many practical applications. There have been several studies that suggest that shelter dogs are more relaxed when listing to classical music. But I assume the type of classical music you play will have vastly different impacts. Can you imagine trying to relax while "Flight of the Bumblebee" is playing?


I keep this in mind when I travel with the raptors. Van rides can be stressful events for them, especially when a veterinary exam is the destination, so I try to take advantage of music's calming qualities. While driving, I play a specially curated playlist on my phone titled, "Chill." Though I can't see if it has an effect on the birds, I hope the calmest music in my library helps the birds feel more comfortable while traveling.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Gone

My heart skipped a beat as I scanned the rat snake's habitat. My eyes darted between all of her favorite hiding spots. But Emory was no where to be seen. Panic rising, I unlocked the door and heard a

bottom of page